West Ranch High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Assignments

Basic Biology (Period 5)

Instructor
Kanika Mapp
Term
2017-2018 School Year
Department
Special Education
Description
The Living Earth is a college preparatory course, which promotes interest in Biology and Earth Science through inquiry and investigation. Learning will take place through the 5E methodology: Engage, Explore, Explain, Elaborate, and Evaluate. This class is designed to broaden the students’ knowledge about life on Earth and all its interactions. Through different learning strategies and investigations, students will be able to think critically about the world we live in, interactions of biotic and abiotic factors, short-term and long-term effects of human impact, and how the world is changing as a result.

Upcoming Assignments RSS Feed

No upcoming assignments.

Past Assignments

Due:

Monday, December 11, 2017
Agenda:
Work on Study Guide
 
 
Homework: Study for the final exam that is on Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Due:

Thursday, December 7, 2017
Agenda:
Students presented their Ecosystem Posters
 

Due:

Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Agenda:
 
Homework: Work on Ecosystem Project (Project Due Thursday, December 7th)

Due:

Friday, December 1, 2017
Agenda:
 
Homework: Work on Ecosystem Project (will start putting information and pictures on their poster on Tuesday)

Due:

Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Agenda:
Take the benchmark test
 
Homework: None

Due:

Monday, November 27, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
3. Start on IS2 Study Guide (Answers page 1, page 2, page 3, page 4, page 5)
 
Homework: Complete IS2 Study Guide - Test on Wednesday, November 29

Due:

Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Agenda:
2. Lab (pages 16-18 in the IS2T5 packet) - must be done in class
 
Homework: Finish pages 17-18 in the IS2T5 packet

Due:

Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in any late assignments
2. Complete pages 24-28 in IS2T5 packet
 
Homework: Pages 14-15 from the IS2T5 packet

Due:

Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in any late assignments
2. Complete pages 5-12 in IS2T5 packet
 
Homework: Page 13 from the IS2T5 packet

Due:

Monday, November 13, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
2. Photosynthesis and Respiration Test
 
Homework: None

Due:

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Agenda:
 
Homework: None

Due:

Monday, November 6, 2017
Agenda:
1. Watch Bill Nye:Respiration and fill out half sheet
3. Complete Cell Respiration Vocabulary Worksheet (can use IS2 T4 packet or internet)
4. Complete Photosynthesis & Cellular Respiration Worksheet (use IS2 T3 and IS2 T4 packets and the iternet)
 
Homework: Complete what wasn't completed in class

Due:

Thursday, November 2, 2017
Agenda:
1. Candle Observation (Teacher led)
 
Homework: None

Due:

Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Agenda:
 
Homework: None

Due:

Friday, October 27, 2107
Agenda:
1. Chromatography Lab (must be done at school)
2. Finish Bill Nye from Wednesday
3. Make up missing assignments
 
Homework: Make up missing assignments

Due:

Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Agenda: 
1. Turn in homework
2. Complete Zabrina Lab (must be done at school)
 
Homework: None

Due:

Monday, October 23, 2017
Agenda
1. Turn in homework
3. Billy Nye - Plants with Worksheet (made it through #28)
 
Homework: Complete the Photosynthesis Vocabulary Chart if not completed in class

Due:

Thursday, October 19, 2017
Agenda:
2. Formative Assessment
 
Homework: None

Due:

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
2. Watch a clip from The Martian and fill in graphic organizer
 
Homework: None

Due:

Friday, October 13, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
 
Homework: Finish HHMI Graphic Organizer if not completed in class

Due:

Wednesday, October 11 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
 

Due:

Monday, October 9, 2017
Agenda:
1. Radioactive Dating Game (Do not do number 5) Student Handout (Do all)
 
Homework: Complete whatever was not completed in class

Due:

Thursday, October 5, 2017
Agenda:
 

Due:

Friday, September 29, 2017
Agenda:
1. Crater Picture Activity - Graphic Organizer, Pictures (to use with the graphic organizer), and Where have all the craters gone? (to use with the graphic organizer)
 
Homework: None

Due:

Wednesday, September 27, 2107
Agenda:
IS1 Test
 
Homework: None

Due:

Monday, September 25, 2017
Agenda:
1. Students presented their infrographics
 
Homework: Unit 1 Study Guide. Test on Wednesday, September 27

Due:

Thursday, September 21, 2017
Agenda:
3. Start on Infographic from the handout above using Veengage.com
 
Homework: Finish Infograhic

Due:

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Agenda:
2. Some Animals are More Equal than Others Video and Worksheet
 

Due:

Friday, September 15, 2017
Agenda:
 
Homework: Finish Hunting and Gathering in Bouquet Canyon

Due:

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Agenda:
 

Due:

Monday, September 11, 2017
Agenda:
1. Mini Quiz
2. The Good, The Bad, and The Algae use the PowerPoint and the links on the paper
 
Homework: Complete the back of the Nitrogen Game

Due:

Thursday, September 7, 2017
Agenda:
 

Due:

Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Agenda:
Choose either Rain Forrest Biome or Chaparral Biome (pages must be printed two sided)
 
Homework: Complete HASPI Food Webs, Biomass, & Energy

Due:

Thursday, August 31, 2017
Agenda:
1. Finish the graph annotation from Tuesday, only do one of the last two graphs
2. Complete the claims, evidence, and reasoning on the back of the graphs
3. Watch "Predator Feasting Frenzy" and fill out the worksheet
 
Homework: Complete the graph annotation if not completed in class

Due:

Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
2. Formative Assessment
 

Due:

Friday, August 25, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
 

Due:

Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
2. Formative Assessment
3. Watch Bald Eagle Videos
4. Start on Populations and Carrying Capacity worksheet
 
Homework: Complete #s1-10 on the Populations and Carrying Capacity worksheet

Due:

Monday, August 21, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in homework
2. Work on Population Graphs I, II, and III (do not do he graph or 4b for III)
 
Homework: Finish Population Graphs

Due:

Thursday, August 17, 2017
Agenda:
1. Complete Human Growth Activity from homework on Tuesday
 
Homework: Complete the Extension Questions from the Population Growth POGIL 

Due:

Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Agenda:
1. Turn in safety contract
2. Finish Think-Pair-Share from Friday
4. Take Safety Test
 
Homework: Complete the Graph from the Human Population Growth Activity

Due:

Friday, August 11, 2017
Agenda:
    Complete Graphic Organizer    
 
Homework: Get safety contract signed